Standards Committee Receives Grant

The Joint Committee on Guidelines and Standards for Educational Evaluation has received a \$90,690 grant from the Lilly Endowment to support the first year of a four-year project to develop guidelines and standards for educational evaluation. Half the amount of the grant is contingent upon the receipt of additional funds. The Committee will produce a companion volume in the area of evaluation standards to the AERA-APA-NCME publication *Standards for Educational and Psychological Tests*, as well as a plan for periodic review and revision of the evaluation standards.

Committee members and the organizations they represent include: Donald Campbell, David Jenness, Robert Linn and Wendell Rivers, American Psychological Association; Ronald Carver and George Madaus, National Council for Measurement in Education; William J. Ellena, American Association for School Administrators; Egon G. Guba and Lorrie Shepard, American Educational Research Association; Philip Hosford, Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development; Eugenia Kemble, American Federation of Teachers; William Mays, Jr., National Association of Elementary-School Principals; Bernard McKenna, National Education Association; and James Mecklenberger, National School Boards Association.

Daniel Stufflebeam, director of the Evaluation Center at Western Michigan University is committee chairman and project director. Grants for the project are to be administered through AERA; the project will be implemented at the Evaluation Center at Western Michigan University.

From:

American Educational Research Association. Schutz, R. E. (Ed.) (1976, June). Standards committee receives grant. *Educational Researcher*, 5(6), 16.